Editorial Board



Editor-in-Chief

Professor Ioannis Liritzis

Research Areas: Archaeometry; Natural Sciences in Culture; Geosciences; Astronomy
University of the Aegean
Department of Mediterranean Studies
Laboratory of Archaeometry
Rhodes, 85132, Greece
Tel. and Fax: +30 22410-99320, 99385-6
Email: liritzis@rhodes.aegean.gr

More Info:
Personal Website
Academia.edu
ResearchGate
University of the Aegean

Brief CV of Prof. Ioannis Liritzis

Professor Ioannis Liritzis is a PhD holder from Edinburgh University and Professor of Archaeometry at the University of the Aegean, director & founder of the laboratory of Archaeometry. He has done postdoc research, collaborative work or teaching in MacMaster, Oxford, Edinburgh, Bordeaux, Cairo, Tennessee, Sohag Universities. His research & educational activities focus into the interdisciplinary field of Physics in Archaeology with three main contributions in dating (Luminescence, Obsidian Hydration & Metals) with parallel activities in Geophysics and preventive Conservation-Museology. He is Correspondant Member of the Academie des Sciences, Arts & Belles Lettres, Dijon and Member of the European Academy of Sciences & Arts, Saltzburg, and cited in the Who is Who in the World. His Book Archaeometry (1986) received an National Award by the Academy of Athens. He is in the Editorial Board (member, Editor or Editor-in-Chief) in 14 international Journals, and he has published 8 books (3 in English) and over 250 papers in ICI journals.





Editorial Office

Ioannis Kontopoulos - Assistant Editor (University of York)

Research Areas: Biomolecular Archaeology; Bone Diagenesis; Human Osteology
Email: ik620@york.ac.uk
More Info

Athanasios Zolotas - Web Editor (University of York)

Athanasios Zolotas is currently a Research Associate at the Computer Science Department, University of York. He works on the Innovate UK-funded project SECT-AIR.
He holds an EngD (University of York), a MSc degree in Software Engineering (University of York), and a 4yrs-BSc (ptychion) in Applied Informatics (University of Macedonia, Thessaloniki, Greece).
Research Areas: (Flexible) Model-Driven Engineering, Web Development and Requirements Engineering.
Email: thanos.zolotas@york.ac.uk
More Info

Pantelis Volonakis - Production Editor (University of the Aegean)

Pantelis Volonakis is IT teacher in Secondary Education and PhD candidate at the Department of Mediterranean Studies, University of the Aegean.

Spyros Vosinakis - Assistant Web Editor (University of the Aegean)

Spyros Vosinakis is an Associate Professor, Department of Product and Systems Design Engineering, University of the Aegean, Greece.
Research Areas: Virtual Reality; Educational Virtual Worlds; Intelligent Virtual Agents; Collaborative Virtual Environments; Adaptativity and Personalization in 3D Environments and Virtual Museums
Email: spyrosv@aegean.gr
More Info

Theologos Tsigaros - Assistant Web Editor (University of the Aegean)

Theologos Tsigaros holds a bachelor's degree in Computer Science from University of Crete and a Master's degree in System Analysis and Design from City University, UK. He is working as system administrator at University of the Aegean.



Editors - Archaeology
Editors - Archaeometry
Professor Anagnostis Agelarakis (Adelphi University)

Research Areas: Anthropology; Archaeology of Greece; Palaeoanthropology
Email: agelarakis@adelphi.edu
More Info

Professor Geoffrey Braswell (University of California, San Diego)

Research Areas: Settlement Pattern Studies; Geoarchaeology; Lithic Production and Technology; Archaeometry; Mathematical Methods; Emergence of Complex Society and Economic Systems
Email: gbraswel@ucsd.edu
More Info

Professor Michael Cosmopoulos (University of Missouri)

Research Areas: Greek Archaeology
Email: cosmopoulos@umsl.edu
More Info

Professor Zeidan Kafafi (Yarmouk University)

Research Areas: Late Prehistory and Archaeology of the ancient Near East
Email: zeidank@yahoo.com
More Info

Professor Julian Henderson (University of Nottingham)

Research Areas: Archaeological Science; Ancient Technologies; Iron Age Europe; Medieval Archaeology of the Near East and Western Europe; Silk Road
Email: julian.henderson@nottingham.ac.uk
More Info

Professor Thomas E. Levy (University of California, San Diego)

Research Areas: Prehistoric Archaeology and Anthropology of the Eastern Mediterranean-Near East
Email: tlevy@ucsd.edu
More Info

Dr. John Merkel (University College London)

Research Areas: Conservation and Materials Science
Email: j.merkel@ucl.ac.uk
More Info

Professor Nikos Zacharias (University of Peloponnese)

Research Areas: Conservation; Luminescence Dating; Analytical Methods
Email: zacharias@uop.gr
More Info



Editorial Board - Archaeology
Editorial Board - Archaeometry
Michelle Alexander (University of York)

Research Areas: Bioarchaeology; Isotopic Analysis of Historic period Human and Animal Populations in the UK and Europe
Email: michelle.alexander@york.ac.uk
More Info

Kalliopi Baika (Ministry of Culture, Greece and Aix-Marseille Université)

Research Areas: Maritime Archaeology
Email: kbaika@gmail.com

Anna Belfer-Cohen (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)

Research Areas: Evolution, Spread and Characteristics of Upper Paleolithic Entities; Burial Customs of Prehistoric Societies; Transition from Hunter-Gatherers to Sedentary Farmers; Evolution of Human Cognition
Email: belferac@mscc.huji.ac.il
More Info

Vincenzo Bellelli (Istituto di Studi sul Mediterraneo Antico-ISMA)

Research Areas: Etruscan Archaeology; Italian Archaeology; Mediterannean Archaeology
Email: vincenzo.bellelli@iscima.cnr.it
More Info

David Blackman (University of Oxford)

Research Areas: Marine Archaeology; Underwater Cultural Heritage; Harbours
Email: david.blackman@classics.ox.ac.uk
More Info


Mary Blomberg (Uppsala University)

Research Areas: Ancient History; History of Astronomy; Archaeoastronomy
Email: mary@mikrob.com
More Info


John Coleman (Cornell University)

Research Areas: Classical Archaeology; Mediterranean Archaeology; Greece in Antiquity
Email: jec13@cornell.edu
More Info


Jack L. Davis (University of Cincinnati)

Research Areas: Greek Archaeology; Aegean Prehistory; Survey Archaeology; Modern Greek History
Email: jack.davis@uc.edu
More Info


Katerina Douka (University of Oxford)

Research Areas: Analytical Techniques and Radiocarbon Dating in Archaeological and Palaeoenvironmental Investigations
Email: katerina.douka@rlaha.ox.ac.uk
More Info


Yannis Galanakis (University of Cambridge)

Research Areas: Aegean Prehistory; Archaeology and Art of Bronze and Early Iron Age Aegean; Mortuary Archaeology; Museum Studies; Ethics and Archaeological Practice; 19th-century Antiquities Trafficking and Archaeological Legislation; Integration of Material, Textual, Historical and Scientific-based Research
Email: ig298@cam.ac.uk
More Info


Clive Gray (University of Warwick)

Research Areas: Politics of the Museums and Galleries; Ontology, Epistemology and Methodology in Cultural Policy Research; Forms of Cultural Policy; Organisation and Management of Cultural Policy by the State
Email: c.j.gray@warwick.ac.uk
More Info

Emeritus Prof. Herald Hauptmann (University of Heidelberg)

Research Areas: Prehistoric and Near Eastern Archaeology
Email: adw.kkh@gmx.de

Vladimir I. Ionesov (Samara Institute of Culture and Arts)

Research Areas: Cultural Archaeology; Transformation of Education to address Global Social, Cultural, Environmental and Economic Crises
Email: ionesov@mail.ru
More Info

Stanislaw Iwaniszewski (Escuela Nacional de Antropología e Historia)

Research Areas: Archaeology of Identity; Landscape Archaeology; Archaeoastronomy
Email: siwanisz@yahoo.com
More Info

Bernard Knapp (University of Glasgow)

Research Areas: Mediterranean Archaeology and Archaeometry
Email: bernard.knapp@glasgow.ac.uk
More Info


Evagelia Kiriatzi (British School at Athens)

Research Areas: Technological Landscapes; Human Mobility; Ceramic Analysis; Aegean Archaeology; Ethnoarchaeology
Email: fldirector@bsa.ac.uk; e.kiriatzi@bsa.ac.uk
More Info


Janusz Kozlowski (University of Krakow)

Research Areas: Palaeolithic and Neolithic of Central, South Eastern Europe and North Africa; Neolithisation of Europe; Predynastic Cultures of Egypt; Early Seafaring and Island Archaeology (Aegean and Caribbean)
Email: janusz.kozlowski@uj.edu.pl
More Info


Elena Kranioti (University of Edinburgh)

Research Areas: Forensic Anthropology; Osteoarchaeology; Bioarchaeology
Email: elena.kranioti@ed.ac.uk
More Info


Irene Lemos (University of Oxford)

Research Areas: Early Greek Archaeology and Art; State Formation in Early Greece from the Late Helladic IIIC to the Archaic period; Literacy; Late Bronze and Iron Age Exchange Patterns in the Mediterranean; Archaeology of Ionia
Email: irene.lemos@classics.ox.ac.uk
More Info

Al-Syed Ahmed Mohamed Mahfouz (Assiut University)

Research Areas: Egyptian Archaeology
Email: mahfouzelsayed@yahoo.fr
More Info

Luiz Oosterbeek (Instituto Politécnico de Tomar)

Research Areas: Archaeology; Prehistory and Protohistory; Scientific Research and Public Archaeology
Email: loost@ipt.pt
More Info

Emeritus Prof. Mehmet Ozdogan (University of Istanbul)

Research Areas: Philosophy and Prehistoric Archaeology
Email: c.mozdo@gmail.com
More Info

Marta Santos Retolaza (Museu d'Arqueologia de Catalunya-Empúries)

Research Areas: Excavation Techniques; Production and Distribution of Archaic Ceramics of the Western Mediterranean
Email: msantosr@gencat.cat
More Info

John Schofield (University of York)

Research Areas: Cultural Heritage Management; Landscape Archaeology of the Contemporary Past; Conflict Archaeology
Email: john.schofield@york.ac.uk
More Info

Chris Stevenson (Virginia Commonwealth University)

Research Areas: Anthropology; Abundant Natural Glasses; Obsidian Hydration Dating
Email: cmstevenson@vcu.edu
More Info

Simon Stoddart (University of Cambridge)

Research Areas: Human Landscapes; Material Culture; Central Mediterranean
Email: ss16@cam.ac.uk
More Info

Emeritus Prof. Petros Themelis (University of Crete)

Research Areas: Greek Archaeology; Excavation Techniques
Email: pthemelis@hotmail.com; damophon@gmail.com
More Info

Emeritus Prof. Rene Treuil (Université de Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne)

Research Areas: Aegean Prehistory
More Info

Willeke Wendrich (University of California Los Angeles)

Research Areas: Craft Specialization and Cultural Transmission; Archaeology and Mobility; African Cultural Archaeology; Egyptian Archaeology; Neolithic in Egypt; Digital Humanities Research and Education
Email: wendrich@humnet.ucla.edu
More Info

Robert Bednarik (Int. Federation of Rock Art Organisations, Australia)

Research Areas: Geology, geomorphology, World rock art studies
Email: robertbednarik@hotmail.com
More Info


Omar Abdel-Kareem (Cairo University)

Research Areas: Monument Conservation
Email: omaa67@yahoo.com
More Info

Grzegorz Adamiec (Silesian University of Technology)

Research Areas: Luminescence dating
Email: grzegorz.adamiec@polsl.pl
More Info

Juan Barcelo (Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona)

Research Areas: Computer Applications in Archaeology; Quantitative Archaeology
Email: juanantonio.barcelo@uab.es
More Info


Germana Barone (University of Catania)

Research Areas: Archaeometry; Innovative and Non-destructive methods; Application of Petrography, Mineralogy and Geochemistry to the Cultural Heritage
Email: gbarone@unict.it
More Info


Cathy Batt (University of Bradford)

Research Areas: Magnetic properties of Archaeological Materials; Scientific Dating
Email: c.m.batt@bradford.ac.uk; archaeomagnetism@bradford.ac.uk
More Info

Emeritus Prof. Michael Baxter (Nottingham Trent University)

Research Areas: Archaeology; Multivariate Data Analysis
Email: michael.baxter@ntu.ac.uk
More Info

Joachim Burger (Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz)

Research Areas: Molecular Genetics of Prehistoric, Historic and Fossil Remains
Email: jburger@uni-mainz.de
More Info

Maria Perla Colombini (Università di Pisa)

Research Areas: Chromatography; Analytical Method Development; Mass Spectrometry
Email: maria.perla.colombini@unipi.it
More Info


Paul Craddock (The British Museum)

Research Areas: History of Metallurgy
Email: pcraddock@thebritishmuseum.ac.uk


Martin P. Evison (Northumbria University)

Research Areas: Genetics Archaeology and Culture
Email: martin.evison@northumbria.ac.uk
More Info


Maurizio Forte (Duke University)

Research Areas: Virtual Reality in Archaeology; Digital Archaeology; Cybernetics; Spatial Technologies; 3D Documentation; Virtual Reconstruction of Archaeological Landscapes
Email: maurizio.forte@duke.edu
More Info


Michael Glascock (University of Missouri)

Research Areas: Archaeology; Archaeometry; NAA and Gamma-ray Spectroscopy; Geochemistry; Environmental Science
Email: glascockm@missouri.edu
More Info

Luis Hernandez Ibanez (University of Coruna)

Research Areas: Virtual reality; Virtual heritage; Virtual Archaeology
Email: luis.hernandez@udc.es
More Info

Philippe Lanos (Université de Bordeaux 3 and Université de Rennes 1)

Research Areas: Archaeomagnetism; Geosciences
Email: philippe.lanos@univ-rennes1.fr
More Info

Giulio Magli (Politecnico di Milano)

Research Areas: Architecture; Archaeoastronomy
Email: giulio.magli@polimi.it
More Info


Rocco Mazzeo (University of Bologna)

Research Areas: Conservation
Email: rocco.mazzeo@unibo.it
More Info

Christophe Morhange (Université d'Aix-Marseille)

Research Areas: Coastal Geoarchaeology; Landscape Archaeology; Mediterranean Geography
Email: morhange@cerege.fr
More Info

Andrew Murray (University of Aarhus)

Research Areas: Global Climate Change; Ice Age Deposits; Luminescence Dating
Email: andrew.murray@risoe.dk; andrew.murray@geo.au.dk
More Info

George Pavlidis (ATHENA - Research and Innovation Information Technologies)

Research Areas: Image Processing and Multimedia Applications in Culture and Education
Email: gpavlid@ceti.gr
More Info

Anna Pazdur (Silesian University of Technology)

Research Areas: Scientific Dating
Email: anna.pazdur@polsl.pl
More Info

Emeritus Prof. Vassilis Perdikatsis (Technical University of Crete)

Research Areas: Paint Technology; Mineralogy of the Pigments and Plaster
Email: vperdik@mred.tuc.gr
More Info

George Polymeris (Ankara University)

Research Areas: Luminescence Dating
Email: gspolymeris@ankara.edu.tr
More Info


Paula Reimer (Queen's University Belfast)

Research Areas: Radiocarbon Dating; Quaternary; Paleoecology; Geochemistry
Email: p.j.reimer@qub.ac.uk
More Info

Jurgen Schulze (University of California, San Diego)

Research Areas: Computer Sciences in Archaeology; Scientific Visualization (Immersive virtual reality, Visual data analytics, Volume rendering); Human-Computer Interaction (3D user interface design and evaluation, Augmented reality, Mobile devices for graphics applications)
Email: jschulze@ucsd.edu
More Info

Ashok Singhvi (Deserts Physical Research Laboratory-PRL)

Research Areas: Geology; Luminescence; Paleoclimates; Geochronology
Email: singhvi@prl.res.in
More Info

Rob Sternberg (Franklin & Marshall College)

Research Areas: Geophysical Prospection; Archaeomagnetic Studies
Email: rob.sternberg@fandm.edu
More Info

Gregory Tsokas (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki)

Research Areas: Application of Geophysical Techniques to Environmental, Geotechnical, Hydrogeological and Archaeological Prospection
Email: gtsokas@geo.auth.gr
More Info

Robert H. Tykot (University of Glasgow)

Research Areas: Archaeological Science; Mediterranean Prehistory; Old World Archaeology; Ancient Diets; Bone Chemistry; Exchange Studies; Obsidian; Marble; Sardinia; Sicily
Email: rtykot@usf.edu
More Info

Andreas Vött (Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz)

Research Areas: Coastal Geomorphology; Natural Risk Research; Geoarcheology; Paleogeography; Landscape Ecology
Email: voett@uni-mainz.de
More Info


Kevin Walsh (University of York)

Research Areas: Geoarchaeology; Archaeology of Mediterranean Landscapes
Email: kevin.walsh@york.ac.uk
More Info

Steve Weiner (Kimmel center for Archaeological Science)

Research Areas: Microarchaeology; Biomolecular Archaeology; Structural Biology
Email: steve.weiner@weizmann.ac.il
More Info

Ian Whitbread (University of Leicester)

Research Areas: Analysis of Ancient Ceramic Materials (trade/exchange and the socially embedded nature of technology)
Email: ikw3@le.ac.uk
More Info




All Issues